There are a lot of reasons that a user may want to intentionally deactivate or shut-down their account. Of course, we have to plan for these occurrences and make sure that we clean up their data as best as we can, in the right way.

We also then have to figure out how to display to the rest of the world that this person has left the system – there’s a lot to do and our job never stops!

Like this:

In a previous post the now-deleted user has engaged with, we have to make sure we show this directly in the front-end.

Every interaction matters… and we’re doing our best to capture them and build new systems that make sense.

-john